OFFICERS 2014-2016

NEAL KELLEY PRESIDENT Orange County

DEAN LOGAN VICE PRESIDENT Los Angeles County

SUSAN M.RANOCHAK TREASURER Mendocino County

JOE HOLLAND SECRETARY

Santa Barbara County

BOARD OF DIRECTORS APPOINTED:

GINA ALCOMENDRAS Santa Clara County

KAMMI FOOTE Invo County

SACHI HAMAI Los Angeles County

JILL LAVINE Sacramento County

MARK LUNN

Ventura County KATHIE MORAN

Colusa County

KAREN RHEA Kern County

JULIE RODEWALD San Luis Obispo County

BEVERLY ROSS Tehama County

LARRY WARD Riverside County

DAWN ABRAHAMSON* Fremont City Clerk * non-voting member

ADVISORY COUNCIL:

REBECCA MARTINEZ Madera County GAIL L. PELLERIN

Santa Cruz County
CATHY ALLEN DARLING
Shasta County

ELECTED AREA CHAIRS:

JULIE BUSTAMANTE Northern Area Lassen County

REBECCA SPENCER Southern Area Riverside County

DONNA JOHNSTON Mother Lode Area Sutter County

AUSTIN G. ERDMAN Central Area San Joaquin County

CLAUDIO VALENZUELA Bay Area Monterey County

LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES CLERK OF THE BOARD:

SACHI A. HAMAI

Los Angeles County JOHN MCKIBBEN Los Angeles County

COUNTY CLERK:

KAMMI FOOTE Inyo County

JOE HOLLAND Santa Barbara County

ELECTIONS:

JILL LAVINE Sacramento County KAREN RHEA Kern County



CALIFORNIA ASSOCIATION OF CLERKS AND ELECTION OFFICIALS

NEAL KELLEY, PRESIDENT

Orange County Registrar of Voters 1300-C South Grand Ave., Santa Ana, CA 92705 P.O. Box 11298, Santa Ana, CA 92711-1298 714-567-7600 * Fax: 714-567-7627

> E-Mail: neal.kelley@rov.ocgov.com CACEO website: www.caceo58.org

August 8, 2014

The Honorable Hannah-Beth Jackson State Capitol, Room 2032 Sacramento, CA 95814

SB 113 (JACKSON) -SUPPORT

Dear Senator Jackson:

The California Association of Clerks and Elections Officials is pleased to advise you of our support for SB 113, which expands the early registration of young voters to those who are 16 years old. This group of prospective voters is the least likely to participate in the democratic process. We are supportive of all efforts to increase the level of civic engagement and participation of California's youth and see this as a positive step to that end.

We urge passage of SB 113. Should you have questions regarding our position, please contact me at the Contra Costa County Election Division at scott.konopasek@vote.cccounty.us or (925) 335-7808.

Respectfully,

Scott O. Konopasek

Corresponding Secretary

California Association of Clerks and Election Officials

Cc: Lisa Gardiner, Staff

Darren Chesin, Chief Consultant, Senate Elections and C.A. Committee Ethan Jones, Chief Consultant, Assembly Committee on Elections and Redistricting

Barry Brokaw, Sacramento Advocates, Inc.

Jill LaVine, Co-Chair, CACEO Election Legislative Committee Karen Rhea, Co-Chair, CACEO Election Legislative Committee

Officium Populi - Office of the People